Google Reader trends, a trend setter.

Posted on January 4, 2007. Filed under: google, web services |


When it comes to feed reading, then its Google Reader for me. I once trried few others, but the ease which it provides is certainly beyond comparison. Lets start whole topic with why I love Google, and its products. Not because they are on some what anti Microsoft stand but the are dynamic. And If you are on net then you must be dynamic.
Reader, is on with a new add on, that is trend. This little new feature allows to user to watch the previous trends which he had followed while he read his feeds.
They have not only divided statistics on the base of most read and almost inactive feeds but also the most active time and days, which make an interesting read. And not only a interesting read but also helps to unload some of feeds if you find them as dull, and static. And I think Google have used ‘Tags’, as they nearly always use ‘Labels’ for the same purpose. This might just help them to be the market leader in feed readers.
One of the few complains which I have with google is that they are really weak with community developing. Looking for an example…. http://www.google.com/reader/shared/08826823285193384074
That URL is address of my feed blog. I certainly can not remember it.
One more trouble i with its sharing option, it is not providing any customization option in sharing field. I think I should be given an option to share few feeds with my friends only, and not with whole world.
But of Trends, its really a nice service as it will help in prioritizing feed reading if in 11th hour. More over one can just share his feed reading trends, and certainly Robert Scoble would like to do so. I certainly think that this is a mere coincidence that in my previous post I discussed about a guy named Yuvi from India who has done a detailed study of Robert Scoble’s blog Scobleizer and even of his feed blog, Robert on his blog have repeatedly written about his affection for Google Reader. Hey I am not in for doing a study on Scobleizer, as I have to study for the end semester examinations which are just around my neck. By the I think Google should continue with the same spirit to bring up some thing new, and keep their ever growing empire dynamic.


Digg!

Technorati Tags: , , ,

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...